The government structure of the Inner and Universal Aquarian Epochal Chancellate is composed of three branches with hundreds of elected officials and thousands of other employees situated in offices around the world.

Government officials are elected every four years by the membership in the general elections. Some of the positions that are not voted for are appointed by those that are over them in the hierarchy.

Voters consist of anyone that has been purified and confirmed. They vote using their identification number provided by the Chancellate. Anyone who has been ordained to the Templar priesthood can run for office provided that they live in the jurisdiction that they seek to have power in.

The branches and the powers that they hold are vested in the Epochal Doctrine and Covenants. They are subject to be changed at any point in time through divine revelation with the common consent of the people.

Executive Branch:

  • President

    • At the head of the Executive Branch is the office of the President and the Two Counselors. The President is the final authority of the Chancel and is also the seat of the Prophet as defined in the Epochal Doctrine and Covenants.

  • Viceroy

    • The office of the Viceroy and the two supporting counselors are the permanent representatives and the head of the government in their day to day operations.

  • Cabinet

    • As it currently stands, there are 25 offices of the cabinet with their own functions over the Chancel. They manage the day to day operations of the Chancel according to their respective departments. Each of the cabinet departments are appointed by the president and approved by the legislative branch. They are at the head of committees that oversee their defined tasks.

Legislative Branch:

  • Senate

    • The senate is the upper house of the legislative branch. They are responsible for the final approval of acts and laws that are attempting to be passed. The senate is voted on a temple district basis and there are two senators per temple district regardless of the number of stakes.

  • Consulate

    • The consulate consists of counselors and they are the lower house of the legislative branch. They propose laws and acts to be passed. Each stake is represented by a counselor and cannot be the same person as the one who owns the stake. They are to convene for a couple times a year at the central government.

Judicial Branch:

  • Judges

    • The judiciary branch consists of nine major judges heading a council of lawyers. They are tasked with hearing major cases that cannot be handled at the temple district. They are to also review laws to make sure that they comply with what they need to in order to not cause strife. They are appointed by the president directly and they cannot be replaced except in retirement or death.

The executive priesthood is based at temple square. The executive branch offices are located in the main temple of the Chancel, which is one of the largest in the entire system. The legislative branch meets at their stakes and temples for the majority of the year. When they are in session, the senate meets in the tabernacle and the consulate meets in the conference center. The judiciary meets in the tabernacle as well. The offices of the executive and judicial branches are located on the site as well. The legislature temporarily meets in nearby convention centers when they are in session divided by province.

The primary objective of the government is to set laws and to manage finances. The finances of the Chancel come from the payments made by the stakes and temple districts along with voluntary donations. The finances are used for the following things:

  • Construction and operation of temples and the establishment of stakes

  • Salaries of employees and those in the leadership positions

  • Charities of their own or of those that they choose

  • Research and development

  • Administration of the sacraments

  • Education of secular and spiritual nature around the world

  • Programs devoted to the building of lesser developed regions